Dungeon Maps: The Vault of the Shifting Sands

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been teaching myself the basics of GIMP, an open source alternative to Adobe’s Photoshop, in an effort to upskill myself (but mostly because I enjoy learning new things). Today I am happy to present the fruits of my labours!

I already know a few things I could do better and will probably make a few more maps until I am comfortable with layer masks, texture work and the like. As a first attempt though, I’m happy with what I’ve done. If you have any advice, please feel free to leave a comment.

A few notes; the .pngs on this page are full size and, if printed, should measure 1 inch to a square, as is standard for D&D battlemaps. If you use these maps in a digital campaign, each square measures 100px to a side. Room descriptions (including an array of traps and puzzles) and art credits can be found in the .pdf here.

This is primarily intended for 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons, but you should be able to adapt it smoothly to any system.

Leave a Reply

